Jump To Navigation
Call 785-371-0536

Contact our
Firm Today

Open Our Quick Contact Form

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Kansas DUI Penalty Chart

Upon conviction of an Kansas DUI charge, a defendant can receive a variety of penalties including alcohol treatment / education.  A range of minimum penalties is set forth below:


KANSAS DUI PENALTY CHART

DUI CONVICTION

TYPICAL RANGE OF PENALTIES

FIRST DUI
See Note 1 below

  • Minimum 48 hours jail or 100 hours of community service.
  • Fines of $750 - $1000.
  • License suspension: 30 days plus 330 days restriction to driving only to and from work, to required classes, or in a medical emergency.

SECOND DUI

  • Minimum five days jail;
  • Fines of $1250 - $1500;
  • License suspension of one year plus at least one year IID restriction.

THIRD DUI

  • Minimum 90 days jail (possibly served in work release or home confinement);
  • Fines of $1500 - $2500;
  • License suspension of one year plus at least one year IID restriction.

Note 1:  Successful completion of the Kansas DUI diversion program will allow you to avoid a conviction. 
Note 2:  Expect more jail time if you have a child under 14 in the car with you at the time of your DUI.
Note 3:  A fifth or greater conviction will result in a permanent revocation of your Kansas drivers license.

Office Location

Law Office of Sally G. Kelsey
16 E. 13th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone: 785-371-0536
Fax: 785-842-3039
Map and Directions